Item added to your basket.

The Return
Black Focus Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
25 May 2018
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • + WAV / FLAC
    • Standard 180g Black Vinyl
    • Download card

    Stock on order, expected soon.

  • CD

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Stock on order, expected soon.

The Return is a rich tapestry of visionary jazz woven together with the sounds and signals of South London Streets. Known for his critically acclaimed project as Yussef Kamaal on Brownswood and his more dancefloor focused tracks as Henry Wu, Kamaal Williams debut album opened the door wide for everyone to follow in his footsteps and step through to experience one of the most exciting musical movements 2018 has witnessed.

Already regarded as a true figurehead within the new wave of jazz and the refreshed hip-hop beat scene that he has helped build from the start, Kamaal Williams has been an in-demand artist who has tirelessly and consistently perfected his craft as both Henry Wu and half of the Brownswood group Yussef Kamaal. Adding to the list of long sold out 12"s as Wu, it was with longtime supporter Gilles Peterson on the label side that Kamaal alongside Yussef Dayes created the now a modern-classic album Black Focus. A record that arguably captured the very best moments of improvised rhythmic jazz and cut it to wax, and in doing so gifted us with one of the decade's most widely adored albums. Now, some two years later Kamaal Williams has returned in solo mode with an album that not only builds on the very best elements of Black Focus but also surpasses it with some astonishing arrangements. The Return is an album that is both daringly progressive and funky yet ticks all the right boxes for those looking to dip into some cosmic, exploratory and effortlessly enjoyable visionary sounds.

Much like late-era 4 Hero and the current US connections of Kamasi Washington and Thundercat, Kamaal Williams is using the tones and textures of jazz as a jumping off point to explore a new era of street-level soul that is as equally influenced by the coolest corners of hip-hop. Looking out of the studio window toward the hustle and bustle of the London streets of which Kamaal and crew live and breathe, and backed with a wealth of knowledge and a record collection jam-packed with jazz, hip-hop, funk and fusion as well as some of the best house and techno. Kamaal Williams The Return is both a true step forward for the sound that Yussef Kamaal were progenitors of, yet also opens the door wide for us and everyone else following in his footsteps to step through and experience one of the most exciting musical movements London has had in years.

Read More
  1. 1 Salaam 8:33 Kamaal Williams Buy
  2. 2 Broken Theme 4:26 Kamaal Williams Buy
  3. 3 The Return 1:06 Kamaal Williams Buy
  4. 4 High Roller 3:00 Kamaal Williams Buy
  5. 5 Situations (Live In Milan) 2:59 Kamaal Williams Buy
  6. 6 Catch The Loop (Album Version) 6:54 Kamaal Williams Buy
  7. 7 Rhythm Commission 2:34 Kamaal Williams Buy
  8. 8 Medina 6:57 Kamaal Williams Buy
  9. 9 LDN Shuffle (feat. Mansur Brown) 5:30 Kamaal Williams Buy
  10. 10 Aisha 2:21 Kamaal Williams Buy
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.